Kansas Insurance Prelicensing Requirements

KANSAS INSURANCE PRELICENSING INFORMATION

Kansas requires potential agents take and complete a state approved prelicensing course before taking their licensing exam.

WHAT’S IN MY COURSE?

Navigate to ExamFX’s home page and select the line of authority you’re interested in to learn more about our comprehensive insurance training packages.

DON'T FORGET YOUR GUARANTEE EXAM!

ExamFX is so confident in the quality of its material that we offer our customers a first-time pass guarantee. If you don’t pass the first time around, we will refund your money. To qualify for this offer, you must pass our Guarantee Exam with a score of 80% to determine maximum exam readiness. While completing this portion of your online course is not required, we highly recommend taking this extra step.

HOW DO I GET MY LICENSE?

Step 1 (optional): Complete an optional prelicensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.

Step 2: Get fingerprinted and request a criminal background check. To complete this, you must first fill out a Fingerprint Card Request Form. Your fingerprint card will be mailed to you. Download and complete the Waiver Agreement and Statement Form.

Once you have received your fingerprint card, you should contact your local law enforcement agency to schedule an appointment to have your prints taken. Remember to take your filled out fingerprint card, at least one form of picture identification, your Waiver Agreement and Statement Form, and a stamped envelope addressed to: Kansas Insurance Department, ATTN: Producer Licensing, 420 SW 9th St., Topeka, KS. A fee may be charged by the local agency.

You will need to sign your fingerprint card in front of the officer taking your prints. The officer will need to sign and complete the section on page two of the waiver form. Provide your stamped envelope to the law enforcement officer to mail your card and waiver form.

Use a mailing service that allows for delivery confirmation. Do not bend or fold your fingerprint card.

NOTE: Digital prints are accepted as long as they are in the FD258 format.

This is an extensive process. Please review the licensing guidelines on the Department’s website.

Step 3: Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License. You can do so through the Department’s Producer Desktop or by mail.

Step 4: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.pearsonvue.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (888) 204-6255. Your examination fee is $64 for a combination exam and $57 for single line or limited line exams.

To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you register for ExamFX prelicensing courses, schedule your license exam, and/or apply for your license it is important to use the same name that appears on the identification forms you plan to present at the time of your testing appointment.

Step 5: Take and pass you state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) one of which must contain a photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

When you complete your exam a score report will be provided marked “pass” or “fail.” If you pass you will receive more information on how to apply for your license at that time.

Step 6: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

WHAT WILL MY EXAM BE LIKE?

Your exam experience is dependent on the line of authority you are testing for but all licensing exams will be multiple choice and take place on a computer. Carefully review the below examination breakdowns to learn important factors like:

 

  1. the number of questions on your exam
  2. the time limit
  3. the subjects that you will be tested on
  4. the score that you must achieve to pass the exam

 

Kansas Life Insurance Examination
100 Questions (84 scored, 16 pretest)
Time limit: 90 minutes
Passing score: 70%

CHAPTERPERCENTAGE OF EXAM
GENERAL KNOWLEDGE:
Completing the Application, Underwriting, and Delivering the Policy 14%
Types of Life Policies14%
Life Policy Provisions, Options, and Riders21%
Taxes, Retirement and Other Insurance Concepts10%
STATE LAW:
Kansas Rules and Regulations Common to All Lines24%
Kansas Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Life Only17%

Kansas Accident & Health Insurance Examination
100 Questions (84 scored, 16 pretest)
Time limit: 90 minutes
Passing score: 70%

CHAPTERPERCENTAGE OF EXAM
GENERAL INSURANCE:
Field Underwriting 11%
Types of Health Policies17%
Health Policy Provisions, Clauses and Riders24%
Social Insurance3%
Other Insurance Concepts5%
STATE LAW:
Kansas Rules and Regulations Common to All Lines24%
Kansas Rules and Regulations for Health Only16%

Kansas Life and Accident & Health Insurance Examination
156 Questions (140 scored, 16 pretest)
Time limit: 2.5 hours
Passing score: 70%

CHAPTERPERCENTAGE OF EXAM
GENERAL KNOWLEDGE:
Completing the Application, Underwriting, and Delivering the Policy8%
Types of Life Policies9%
Life Policy Riders, Provisions, Options, and Exclusions13%
Taxes, Retirement, and Other Insurance Concepts6%
Field Underwriting Procedures6%
Types of Health Policies10%
Health Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders14%
Social Insurance2%
Other Health Insurance Concepts3%
STATE LAW:
Kansas Rules and Regulations Common to All Lines13%
Kansas Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Life Only 8%
Kansas Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Health Only 8%

Kansas Property and Allied Lines Insurance Examination
100 Questions (84 scored, 16 pretest)
Time limit: 1.5 hours
Passing score: 70%

CHAPTERPERCENTAGE OF EXAM
GENERAL KNOWLEDGE:
Property Insurance Terms and Related Concepts17%
Policy Provisions and Contract Law13%
Types of Property Policies30%
STATE LAW:
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations Common to All Lines Insurance24%
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations for P&C Insurance8%
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Property Only8%

Kansas Casualty and Allied Lines Insurance Examination
100 Questions (84 scored, 16 pretest)
Time limit: 1.5 hours
Passing score: 70%

CHAPTERPERCENT OF EXAM
GENERAL KNOWLEDGE:
Casualty Insurance Terms and Related Concepts16%
Casualty Policy Provisions14%
Types of Casualty Policies, Bonds, and Related Terms30%
STATE LAW:
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations Common to All Lines24%
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations for P&C Only8%
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Casualty Only 8%

Kansas Property, Casualty and Allied Lines Insurance Examination
156 Questions (140 scored, 16 pretest)
Time limit: 2.5 hours
Passing score: 70%

CHAPTERPERCENTAGE OF EXAM
GENERAL KNOWLEDGE:
Insurance Terms and Related Concepts20%
Policy Provisions and Contract Law 15%
Types of Property Policies18%
Types of Casualty Policies, Bonds, and Related Terms18%
STATE LAW:
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations Common to All Lines14%
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations for P&C Only5%
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Property Only5%
Kansas Statutes, Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Casualty Only5%

I FAILED MY EXAM. NOW WHAT?

We are sorry to hear that you have failed your first attempt at passing your state’s licensing exam. These licensing exams are difficult and some candidates must try again to reach their goal. We want to help you get there, so we recommend that you:

Step 1: Be aware of retake limitations and rules. In Kansas, candidates must wait at least 24 hours before reregistering to take an exam after failing. Candidates must schedule their first or second retake at least 7 days after the date of failure. The third and subsequent attempts must take place at least 6 months from the date of the second retake.

Step 2: Reschedule your exam. You must re-register by following the initial registrations and scheduling steps.

Step 3: ExamFX’s subject matter experts are available by email at instructor.support@examfx.com to help you pass your licensing exam on your next attempt. Many testing providers will supply you with a score report or performance summary after your testing appointment. Use this report to let the ExamFX subject matter experts know what areas of the exam that you are struggling the most with.

Step 4: Study your materials. ExamFX materials are created by analyzing the exact testing outline supplied by your testing provider or Department of Insurance. This means that all the information that you need to pass your exam is within your course. Be confident that with more studying, you can pass your licensing exam and achieve your goals!

MORE QUESTIONS?

ExamFX recommends that you contact your Department of Insurance or testing center directly.

For licensing information please contact:
Kansas Insurance Department
Producers Division
420 SW Ninth Street
Topeka, KS 66612-1678
Phone: (785) 296-7862
Email: KID.Licensing@ks.gov

For licensing exams:
Pearson VUE Kansas Insurance
Attn: Regulatory Program
5601 Green Valley Dr.
Bloomington, MN 55437
Phone: (888) 204-6255
Email: pearsonvuecustomerservice@pearson.com

The information displayed above is for informational purposes only. ExamFX is not responsible for the accuracy of the information on this page. All steps have been taken to make sure that the information relayed on this page is accurate; however, information is subject to change without notice. It is the responsibility of the producer to be compliant per their states requirements.